1. Home
  2. ››
  3. Blog
  4. ››
  5. Secrets of Australian Tennis Open Championship

Secrets of Australian Tennis Open Championship

tennis in Australia


The Australian Open is one of the major tennis tournaments that are held annually in Australia. The tournament begins at the last fortnight of January in Melbourne. The first Open was held in 1905 and since then it is considered among the first four Grand Slam tournaments that are held annually. The main features of the Australian open are:

  • Men singles
  • Women singles
  • Men, women and mixed doubles
  • Junior championships
  • Wheelchair and legends championships
  • Exhibition events

The tournament has a high attendance and it even exceeds the US open. At the Grand Slam events, the Australian Open has the record for the highest attendance. It was the first tournament in which the indoor matches a held in case of extremely hot or wet weather in their three special courts that have the retractable roofs. 

  • Margaret Court Arena
  • Hisense Arena 
  • Rod Laver Arena 

It means that the tournament is not going to stop regardless of the weather conditions. 

Prize money and Bonus awards

The awarded prize money is distributed equally among the winner. There is no discrimination because of the gender or difference in the tournament. AUD $50,000,000 is the prize money with the 2017’s Australian open and it will be distributed in the following way:

  • The winner of the men and women singles will be awarded with prize money of $3,700,000
  • A reward of $650,000 is for the winners of men and women doubles
  • The winners of the mixed doubles will get a reward of $165,000

There are perpetual trophy cups on which the names of the winners will be inscribed. The women winners are awarded the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup. On the other hand, the winners of the men’s tournament are awarded Norman Brookes Challenge Cup.

Australian tennis open secrets

Current champions

The tournament of 2017 was a great success as the fans enjoyed a lot. Some of them got a chance to celebrate because their favorite players won while others were just happy as the players they love got a chance to participate in the tournaments.

All the players gave the best performance but at the end, only one is titled as the winner. The winner of the men’s single 2017 is Roger Federer while Rafael Nadal is the runner up. For women’s singles, we have Serena Williams as the winner and the runner-up is Venus Williams.

On the other hand, the winners of men’s double are Henri Kontinen and John Peers, while the runner-up is Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan. Bethanie Mattek-Sands and Lucie Šafářová are the winners of the women’s doubles and the runner up are Andrea Hlaváčková and Peng Shuai.

For mixed doubles, we have Abigail Spears and Juan Sebastián Cabal as the winners while Sania Mirza and Ivan Dodig are the runner-up. 

In case that you have missed to the tournament, make sure to check the highlights. As it can be regarded as one of the most happening and exciting Australia Open.